Additional Content 1234567891011 Last »
FM Diversion and Dam Increases national debt

ND Lawmakers: Ancestors Mean Nothing

ND SB 2311 (2015)

ND Senators Show Their Respect for Human Burial Sites

One of the first memories I have from my childhood relating to a cemetery was a stern warning to respect the dead in their graves in solemnity, because behaving without a decorum of reverence was disrespectful. Which included instructions of where you should walk, how loud you should talk and sage advice that most visitors are there grieving or on a journey searching for lost ancestors in their family tree.

When SB 2311 initially passed 24-21, North Dakota had a cemetery bill that would preserve sacred grounds and ensure that every man, woman, child, ethnic group and veteran would have their final resting places respectfully observed.

However, Fargo’s self-centered political machine felt that the bill would interfere with the Fargo Dam and FM Diversion project. Which, in and of itself, is an indirect admission by Fargo that they are aware they are intentionally desecrating cemeteries without just cause or consequence.

In its simplest form, SB 2311 wasn’t just about cemeteries in the Red River Valley upstream of Fargo, ND tied to a multi-billion dollar development project. It was a bill that included all North Dakota cemeteries from west to east, but also impacts several in Minnesota as well. The bill was to ensure that any proposed construction of a highway, dam, reservoir, or other project to be paid for with public funds, that is likely to disturb a human burial site, would require the state department of health and the state historical society to schedule a public hearing to allow public comment regarding the disturbed burial site. And before any project may commence, the governmental entity conducting the project shall implement a cultural resource mitigation plan approved by the director of the state historical society.

Simply a “public hearing”…, to ensure that ancestors that have passed are afforded a modicum of dignity and respect in their final resting places got pro-Fargo lawmakers worked up. Especially, when faced with brazen development projects and unabashed greed.

North Dakota Century Code 12.1-17-06. Criminal coercion.

1. A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if, with intent to compel another to engage in or refrain from conduct, he threatens to:
c. Expose a secret or publicize an asserted fact, whether true or false, tending to subject any person, living or deceased, to hatred, contempt, or ridicule, or to impair another’s credit or business repute; or
d. Take or withhold official action as a public servant or cause a public servant to take or withhold official action.

So what does that tell us about North Dakota lawmakers that voted to kill SB 2311 (The Cemetery Bill)?

It’s no surprise that Grafton Senator Tom Campbell voted against the bill. He also sits on the Choice Financial board of directors as chairman, with Choice Financial involved with the development of Eagle Pointe southeast of Davies H.S., listed as the mortgagee of blocks 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 with James R. Bullis, Carefree Investments, LLC.

Download: Eagle Pointe Plat Map (Senator Tom Campbell – R, Grafton, ND) – PDF 2.1 mb

But why would Senator’s Judy Lee and Mac Schneider go from desk to desk encouraging senators to reconsider and change the vote?

It’s a good thing that good old political arm twisting isn’t considered “coercion”…

But is manipulation of votes to compel an outcome any less despicable?

West Fargo Senator Judy Lee argued, with a shrill voice laced with hyperbole, against the bill and called it a “pre-emptive strike” against the diversion, however, that is simply pro-Fargo rhetoric intended to undermine and influence other senators into leaving all North Dakota cemeteries at risk of damages without consequences.

Whether or not Grand Forks Senator Mac Schneider is related to someone actively involved with the Fargo Dam and FM Diversion project is up to you to decide. People do favors for each other all the time. The greater question is why would a Grand Forks Senator (Mac Schneider) abandon his constituents as a favor to Fargo, when U.S. Army Corps of Engineers alignment VE13A documentation indicates 41.64 inches more water (read more…) at Grand Forks, above the highest crest since construction of their city floodwalls?

So why is any bill, such as SB 2311 (The Cemetery Bill) even needed? Senate Bill 2311 was introduced because social morality has failed or been perverted by development greed.

Here is a list of North Dakota senators that refused to protect the sanctity of cemeteries:

Howard C. Anderson, Jr. voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Kelly M. Armstrong voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Tyler Axness voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Randall A. Burckhard voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Tom Campbell voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Jonathan Casper voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Kyle R. Davison voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Tim Flakoll voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
John Grabinger voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
David Hogue voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Ray Holmberg voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Karen K. Krebsbach voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Lonnie J. Laffen voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Gary A. Lee voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Judy Lee voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Richard Marcellais voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Tim Mathern voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Philip M. Murphy voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Carolyn C. Nelson voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Erin Oban voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Dave Oehlke voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Nicole Poolman voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
David S. Rust voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Mac Schneider voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
George Sinner voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Ronald Sorvaag voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Jessica Unruh voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.
Rich Wardner voted to disrespect ND cemeteries.

Here are six ND senators that flipped their vote:

D- John Grabinger, Jamestown, ND, District 12
R- Gary A. Lee, Casselton, ND, District 22
D- Erin Oban, Bismarck, ND, District 35
R- Dave Oehlke, Devils Lake, ND, District 15
R- Nicole Poolman, Bismarck, ND, District 7
R- Jessica Unruh, Beulah, ND, District 33

Click HERE to share your thoughts with the 2015 Legislative assembly;
or use the contact form at the bottom of this page.

Here are the ND senate voting records on SB 2311

Senator Address City, State, Zip Email VOTES
Howard C. Anderson, Jr. 2107 Seventh Street NW Turtle Lake, ND 58575-9667 hcanderson@nd.gov NAY NAY
Kelly M. Armstrong 513 Elks Drive Dickinson, ND 58601-2947 karmstrong@nd.gov NAY NAY
Tyler Axness 752 51st Street South Fargo, ND 58103-7245 taxness@nd.gov NAY NAY
Brad Bekkedahl 418 12th Avenue West Williston, ND 58801-4730 bbekkedahl@nd.gov YEA YEA
Bill L. Bowman 408 First Street SW Bowman, ND 58623-9753 bbowman@nd.gov YEA YEA
Randall A. Burckhard 1837 15th Street SW Minot, ND 58701-6158 raburckhard@nd.gov NAY NAY
Tom Campbell 15135 County Road 11 Grafton, ND 58237-8802 tomcampbell@nd.gov NAY NAY
Ron Carlisle P.O. Box 222 Bismarck, ND 58502-0222 rcarlisle@nd.gov YEA YEA
Jonathan Casper P.O. Box 6457 Fargo, ND 58109-6457 jcasper@nd.gov NAY NAY
Dwight Cook 1408 17th Street SE Mandan, ND 58554-4895 dcook@nd.gov YEA YEA
Kyle R. Davison 4918 Meadow Creek Drive South Fargo, ND 58104-7116 kdavison@nd.gov NAY NAY
Dick Dever 1416 Eastwood Street Bismarck, ND 58504-6226 ddever@nd.gov YEA YEA
Jim Dotzenrod P.O. Box 69 Wyndmere, ND 58081-0069 jdotzenrod@nd.gov YEA YEA
Robert Erbele 6512 51st Avenue SE Lehr, ND 58460-9149 rerbele@nd.gov YEA YEA
Tim Flakoll 1350 Second Street North Fargo, ND 58102-2725 tflakoll@nd.gov NAY NAY
John Grabinger 1008 Eighth Avenue NE Jamestown, ND 58401-3507 jgrabinger@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
Joan Heckaman 322 Second Avenue North New Rockford, ND 58356-1712 jheckaman@nd.gov YEA YEA
David Hogue P.O. Box 1000 Minot, ND 58702-1000 dhogue@nd.gov NAY NAY
Ray Holmberg 621 High Plains Court Grand Forks, ND 58201-7717 rholmberg@nd.gov NAY NAY
Ralph Kilzer 1982 Mesquite Loop Bismarck, ND 58503-0198 rkilzer@nd.gov YEA YEA
Jerry Klein P.O. Box 265 Fessenden, ND 58438-0265 jklein@nd.gov YEA YEA
Karen K. Krebsbach P.O. Box 1767 Minot, ND 58702-1767 kkrebsbach@nd.gov NAY NAY
Lonnie J. Laffen 3549 15th Avenue South Grand Forks, ND 58201-3706 llaffen@nd.gov NAY NAY
Oley Larsen 11051 20th Avenue SE Minot, ND 58701-2658 olarsen@nd.gov YEA YEA
Gary A. Lee P.O. Box 3 Casselton, ND 58012-0003 galee@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
Judy Lee 1822 Brentwood Court West Fargo, ND 58078-4204 jlee@nd.gov NAY NAY
Larry Luick 17945 101st Street SE Fairmount, ND 58030-9522 lluick@nd.gov YEA YEA
Richard Marcellais 301 Laite Loop NE Belcourt, ND 58316-3877 rmarcellais@nd.gov NAY
Tim Mathern 429 16th Avenue South Fargo, ND 58103-4329 tmathern@nd.gov NAY NAY
Joe Miller 214 Harris Avenue North Park River, ND 58270-4512 joetmiller@nd.gov YEA YEA
Philip M. Murphy 1212 Parke Avenue Portland, ND 58274-4013 pmmurphy@nd.gov NAY NAY
Carolyn C. Nelson 210 11th Street North #205 Fargo, ND 58102-4687 cnelson@nd.gov NAY NAY
Erin Oban 1319 Apache Street Bismarck, ND 58501-2632 eoban@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
David O’Connell 2624 County Road 30 Lansford, ND 58750-9736 doconnell@nd.gov YEA YEA
Dave Oehlke 125 Woodlea Drive Devils Lake, ND 58301-8545 doehlke@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
Nicole Poolman 6517 Misty Waters Drive Bismarck, ND 58503-9300 npoolman@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
Larry J. Robinson 3584 Sheyenne Circle Valley City, ND 58072-9545 lrobinson@nd.gov YEA YEA
David S. Rust P.O. Box 1198 Tioga, ND 58852-1198 drust@nd.gov NAY NAY
Donald Schaible 9115 Highway 21 Mott, ND 58646-9200 dgschaible@nd.gov YEA YEA
Mac Schneider 1806 University Avenue Grand Forks, ND 58203-3342 macschneider@nd.gov NAY NAY
George Sinner 1806 Rose Creek Drive South Fargo, ND 58104-6829 georgesinner@nd.gov NAY NAY
Ronald Sorvaag 3402 Birdie Street North Fargo, ND 58102-1201 rsorvaag@nd.gov NAY NAY
Connie Triplett 1807 Willow Drive Grand Forks, ND 58201-8108 ctriplett@nd.gov YEA
Jessica Unruh 2108 Seventh Street NE Beulah, ND 58523-7101 jkunruh@nd.gov YEA FLIPPED NAY
Terry M. Wanzek 900 Seventh Avenue SW Jamestown, ND 58401-4542 tmwanzek@nd.gov YEA YEA
Rich Wardner 1042 12th Avenue West Dickinson, ND 58601-3654 rwardner@nd.gov NAY NAY
John M. Warner 33200 331st Avenue SW Ryder, ND 58779-9515 jwarner@nd.gov YEA YEA
24 21 19 28


Use this form to share your kind words or concerns with the 2015 ND Legislative Assembly:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Telephone (optional)

Subject: ND SB 2311 (2015)

My Thoughts on SB 2311 (2015)

Security Code
captcha

Enter Security Code

Views: 90

2 Responses to “ ND Lawmakers: Ancestors Mean Nothing ”

  1. I sent my comments. Felt good to “unload”……. Thanks Marcus for all you do on behalf of those opposing this project.

  2. Senate Bill 2311 when first passed it would have preserved sacred grounds that have our pioneers,veterans, family members, friends buried in. How can senators who voted against this important sleep at night.

    The Lower Wild Rice Cemetery will have 10 ft of water on it with the other affected one’s with lesser amounts. Why should this water water me forced on these cemetery’s so Fargo can develop in a natural flood plain. I hope some common sense will get this bill approved.

    Thank you for hearing me out.

Leave a Reply

You can use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <strong>